Mini Apple Pie? Is Such a thing even possible?

Just like any other red-blooded American man I love me some Apple pie, unfortunately UNlike a lot of red-blooded Americans I usually can’t eat a huge slice of it after having dinner and feel ok driving home later, makes me feel like I’m going into insulin shock stuffing all that stuff into my stomach.  If you’ve been following you know that Im a huge fan of bite-sized desserts that satisfy the craving but don’t wreak havoc on your stomach…so I asked myself…What if I just used a wonton/gyoza wrapper to make mini apple pies?

Is such a thing

The way I made them they come out to roughly 30 calories each and about 5g of carbs each.

Ingredients:

  • Pack of Gyoza Wrappers
  • 2 Apples of your choice
  • 1 Teaspoon Cornstarch
  • 1 Teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Ground Ginger
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Ground Allspice
  • If its easier just use the pre-made apple pie or pumpkin spice…around 2 teaspoons.
  • Dash of salt
  • 3 Tablespoons Splenda (or sugar if you want)
  • 2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice

Not a particularly hard concept, chop up your apples into small little bite sized squares.

 

Mix up your spices, splenda (or sugar) and lemon juice.  Pop a couple in your mouth to make sure they have the taste you’re going for.  It will thicken/glaze up but you want a ballpark on this before you waste your time baking.

Put the apples in a sauce pan, and let them cook on low/medium for around 10 minutes.

Start filling your wrappers.  I prefer using the round gyoza wrappers for this, if you have eggroll ones just cut them to size, if you have wonton wrappers try to “round” them alittle. 20150823_184756

Essentially the same technique I used when I made gyoza, re-using the GIF for an example.

Think_I_got_it

Preheat your oven to 350, once you’re there toss em in with a quick spray of cooking oil or just lightly grease the pan.  Start watching them around 10 minutes, it might take as long as 20 minutes, there are alot of variables at work here so just keep an eye on it.  You want them to crisp up nicely.

Once they are done take a half splenda(or sugar)/half cinnamon mix and sprinkle it on top, plate and serve.  You’ve got yourself these little mouthfuls of apple pie goodness without the commitment of a huge slice.

MMMMmmmmmm…dat apple pie…