I went in just wanting some Gyoza, came out with a degree in dumpling engineering.

I’ve been experimenting with making Gyoza at home for a couple weeks and if there is one thing I know, its that I’m a damn Gyoza master now.

 

Took a bit of fumbling around, learning how to fold them, learning how to tweak the filling etc but I got it down.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 Pound Ground Pork
  • 1 Pound Cabbage
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 Teaspoon Ginger
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1/8th cup green onions, greens only, roughly 3 onions.
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Teaspoon White Pepper

 

I’d like to make a side note, getting your own pork-shoulder and using a meat grinder will give you a much better product in my experience so if you have the time/patience/equipment, go get the shoulder and grind it yourself.

 

A note on the type of pork you buy, fat makes it juicy.  Getting 95% lean meat is nice and all but its going to be alittle dry if you use it.  85% is probably a better bet, 80% if you don’t care at all.

20150821_145344

 

I put the cabbage through a chopper, I like mine really fine and chopped.  I hate having huge chunk of cabbage and will toss any remaining pieces that are too big that didn’t get chopped.

20150821_145707

 

Then I throw the cabbage/green onion on a pan with alittle oil.  I just let it cook for 3 minutes or so, softening it up.

20150821_150332

 

Get a mixing bowl ready, combine your pork, sesame oil, pepper, ginger, egg, garlic and salt.  Mix it up, let the cabbage cool before you throw it in.  Doesn’t need to be cold, you just dont want it freshly hot.

20150821_151310

 

This is what it should resemble.

20150821_151643

 

 

SIDE NOTE 

Using a good grinder will give you a much better product, and using a quality chunk of pork shoulder will also give you a better product.  Its more time consuming and more of a hassle but if you’re chasing perfection, just do it.  After grinding the meat, grind the veggies with the meat once or twice and it will give you a very heavenly texture to it.

20151030_133347

 

Now then, on to master Gyoza rolling technique class.

 

Basic tutorial.  You want to rub down the rim of the wrapper with water first.  This will allow the edges to bond when you fold them.  Add the filling in the middle.  carefully pick up the entire wrapper, use your fingers to roll the filling into the center away from the edges, then touch the edges together.  The whole time pushing the filling towards the middle.  Then you want to crimp the dumpling by folding it onto itself with little pleats.  Give it a good solid squeeze between your fingers when you’re doing this.  You want it to really seal.  You can even go over it with a drop of water again afterwards if you don’t think its really sealed.

Think_I_got_it

 

Once I have however I’m making I throw them on the pan with a little oil.  I do a 3 step cook.  Sear/Boil/Sear

 

On the pan

20150821_175538

 

Sear each side

 

I add alittle water to the pan, not too much just enough to come up around 1/4 of the dumpling.  I let this simmer for a good 3-5 minutes to fully make sure the pork inside is cooked.

 

I will then drain the dumplings, I like to give the pan a quick wipe down right here to get rid of any wrapper-funk buildup.  Then add some oil and sear them all over again.  This is where you are deciding how crunchy you want them to be.  If you want them crispier, then fry them longer.

 

A crispier version

 

Voila, place on a serving tray and if you want you can garnish them with some sesame seeds, some chives, or some green onion.  Serve with a sauce, personally I prefer tempura sauce.