Short Ribs Sous-Vide, Momofuku if you’re nasty

Korean BBQ anyone?

 

I had never attempted to make short ribs before so I thought I should seek out a well received style and cook method before I jumped into the foray.  The Asian inspired modernistic Momofuku ribs in a Korean marinated BBQ style screamed out to me so I decided lets give it a shot.   Please keep in mind that this is a very slow-cooked method, it takes 48 hours.  This is not a slap it together in an hour type thing…its a set it and forget it kinda deal.

 

The ingredients were as follows, I appreciated the ingredients being put into grams for me, I’ve always liked doing things by weight rather than by volume.

  • 2 2/3 cups (600g) water
  • 1/2 cup (150 g) light soy sauce
  • 4 Tbs (42 g) pear juice
  • 4 Tbs (42 g) apple juice
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp (23g) mirin
  • 1 Tbsp (13g) Asian sesame oil
  • 1 1/4 cup (250g) sugar
  • 10 grinds black pepper
  • 1/2 small onion
  • 1 small carrot
  • 3 scallions (whites only)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 8 pieces bone-in short ribs (5-6 ounces each; 140-170g) trimmed of any silverskin and cut into individual ribs
  • Grapeseed or other neutral oil for frying

 

20150805_215357

 

Picked up some quality short ribs from my local butcher.

 

 

 

 

20150805_215548

 

I should probably apologize to the bloggers/foodies out there and reading this post, I apparently didn’t take any pics of this part but fortunately its really simple.

 

Combine all the ingredients except the short ribs into a pot, boil the liquid with the solids, reduce to medium and let it simmer for like 10 minutes.  Once that’s done then just strain the marinade to remove the solids, cut the short ribs into individual slices (one bone per), put them in a vacuum bag, add the marinade then seal them.

 

You may want to double-bag these to be safe, I did out of fear of any sort of leak springing up.  Set your precision cooker to 140 degrees, submerge and let those babies cook for 48 hours.

 

Once the time is up, I just poke a small hole in the corner to drain out the marinade, then I pull out the ribs.

20150807_202148

 

Pull the bone off gently.

 

Honestly here is the one of the biggest mistakes I made, I didn’t trim the fat off after cooking and left it on there.  It would have been much better/easier/more presentable if before going to the next step I had trimmed it off but I didn’t realize the mistake I was making, dont do what I did, cut that shit off.

 

At this point I departed from the standard recipe and went back to the tried-and-true method of searing meat quickly after Sous-Vide cooking, and that is the pan sear + blowtorch approach.

Put alittle oil down, get it hot then place the ribs down on it.

 

Just as I always do, 30 seconds is enough to prepare the surface for a better torching so I wait 30, then flip them over.  Then I blast them with the torch .  If you dont have a torch you can always just pan-sear them on all sides until brown and crispy.  Let the other side go about 1 minute then pull from the pan and finish torching the other side.

20150807_203117

 

After some hot hot love from my torch.

 

After that it was just a matter of plating, I chopped up some chives for presentation factor and sprinkled them on top, I also added a couple spoons of the broth/marinade on top.

20150807_203840

 

I quickly realized what was wrong however, and transferred the ribs into a more bowl-type dish and let the ribs sit in the broth/marinade.  It was much better tasting like that.

 

20150807_205639

 

They came out so amazingly tender and good….just the perfect amount of sweetness.

Bite

 

 

I think the only thing I’ll change is next time I’ll reduce the broth quite a bit to make more of a syrupy glaze and serve them on a plate.  Don’t get me wrong, this tasted amazing, its just the one thing I think I’d change for personal flair.