Pickling, not just for socially awkward neck-beards.

I’ve never pickled anything.  Never thought about it.  For some reason I thought it was some complicated process involving intricate juices and processes.

 

Plus I didn’t want to look like this guy.

 

 

It turns out that pickling is so stupid easy that even that guy can do it.

 

The basic tenants of pickling something are this.  Water, vinegar, salt, sugar (or splenda).  If you have those you can pickle if you want to, and if your friends dont like it you can leave your friends behind…ugh…I’ll stop now.

 

Pickling a dill pickle wasn’t what I had in mind my first go-around though, where is the fun in that?

  • Veggies of choice.
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 rice wine vinegar (can use any vinegar, I just wanted a sweeter one for this attempt)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon splenda

I wanted to try out Carrots and Daikon raddish.  I love me some Daikon…so under appreciated.

20150816_170410

 

 

I decided to try it two ways, thin slices, and julienned because whats the point of having a stocked kitchen with fancy shit if you’re not going to make your shit fancy?

20150816_171311

 

I brought the liquid to a boil, dumped the veggies into it, let it come back to a boil.  Then just poured it into a mason jar and let it cool.

20150816_171649

 

20150816_171836

…and thats it.  Came out with these crunchy, salty/sweet, strips of pickled goodness that can be eaten straight up or put on top of something else for a crunchy salty kick.

 

Seriously that’s it, the complexities of pickling unraveled.

Mind Blown

 

Obviously there is alot of experimentation to be done with spices, herbs, different veggies…and so on and so forth…but seriously…water, salt, sugar, vinegar.

 

Pickling…who knew….