First Tomato Sauce, Fear of Too Many Onions.

Been wanting to make my own red sauce for a while.

 

Whenever I think of making it I conjure up images of Paul sitting in jail with a razor blade slicing garlic ultra thin and a bunch of Italians sitting around criticizing the sauce.  When it comes to red sauce its always too sweet for someone, too salty for someone else, too something for somebody…

 

I went with a simple recipe for my first go-around that I got from MizEmerilLagasse

  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 12 medium onion
  • 34 cup chicken broth
  • 24 ounce canned whole tomatoes
  • 1(6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 12 teaspoon black pepper
  • 12 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon splenda (sugar if you want)
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 12 teaspoon dried basil

20150812_171936

First I chopped up the onion and smashed the garlic into a paste.

 

Second I put some oil in the bottom of a pot, then I seared the chopped onions and minced garlic for 5 minutes.

20150812_172456

 

 

 

I waited until it started to brown.

20150812_173204

 

 

 

 

Poured in the broth and stirred it around.

20150812_173214

 

 

 

I took the tomatos and puree’d them by smashing them to the best of my ability.  I wanted my sauce to be slightly chunky but not too chunky so I put in some work smashing them.

20150812_173335

 

 

I added the spices except the parsley and basil.  I covered the sauce at this point and let it simmer with the lid on for alittle over an hour.  Stirring occasionally.

20150812_174216

 

From what i’ve read basil has a complex flavor that breaks down and disappears with heat.  It is recommended that you add these spices at the very end of the cooking process.

20150812_184112

 

 

Mixed it up and voila…epic sauce.

 

 

This sauce was just about perfect.  Me and my wife tend to argue about the best sauces though, I prefer mine garlickier and I wanted to add more garlic to this, she doesn’t like it too garlicky so she fights me on it.

 

Either way the point being I think this is the perfect base for any red sauces going forward, tweaks will be made for specific purposes but other than that its dead on.  Perfect level of sweetness, the pepper gives it a tiny hint of heat, and everything just works.  The only thing I will change is using fresh basil/parsley next time and possibly experiment with fresh tomatoes vs. canned.