Mad scientist experimentation with Black Bean Pasta and Salt Block Shrimp

This recipe/attempt was definitely a mish-mash of wanting to attempt new ingredients and techniques all at the same time.  What came out was a pretty tasty, healthy, aesthetic dish that had a ton of fiber and less than 5g of net carbs after all was said and done.

 

So first things first I want to introduce you to an ingredient you’ve probably never even heard of.

 

Its called Black Bean Pasta.

 

Gluten Free, only 5g of Net Carb per serving, and a ton of protein.  Really is a wonder-food, You can find it on Amazon.

PastaPasta Nutrition

 

 

 

I wanted to make it with shrimp so I grabbed some from the store, deveined them (sliced out da poo poo) and dropped in a milk bath while I prepped.  I don’t know how much validity there is to seafood and the milk bath but its supposed to help get rid of any possible fishiness so I figured it couldn’t hurt.

 

20150728_190521

I’ve had this salt block sitting here waiting to get used so I figured I’d give it a test run.  If you’re unaware, a salt block is literally just that.  A big slab of salt mined in the mountains and cut into a block.  Its like a cast iron pan made of salt.

 

I followed the directions and slowly heated it, first on low, then medium low, then medium…you get the idea.  This is to avoid cracking especially on the first run.

 

20150728_184830

 

Using a infrared thermometer, which makes me feel like a complete cyber assassin, I test the surface temp of the block to make sure its ready…it is…

20150728_195707

 

Meanwhile I just boiled the pasta like you would any other pasta, then strained it into a colander.

20150728_201006

 

 

 

 

The recipe I used for the shrimp was this.

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 small shallot, peeled and finely minced
  • 1 medium garlic clove, peeled and finely minced
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1-½ teaspoons cracked black pepper
  • 1 pound large shrimp, cleaned

20150728_191133

 

 

Liquids got mixed up, solids got chopped up.

 

 

20150728_192020

 

Baste the shrimp lightly in the sauce.

 

 

 

20150728_201954

 

 

Carefully throw the shrimp on the block.  I made the mistake of really underestimating how fast these things would cook on the block…the thing is hot…they cooked so fast that by the time the last shrimp was being laid down the first shrimp was already overcooking.  Note to self…don’t cook that many shrimp at the same time.

 

20150728_202542

 

Finished product, topped off with the remaining sauce.

 

I overcooked them alittle, chalk it up to rookie salt-block moves.

20150728_203008

 

Then I turned my attention back to the pasta.  Pretty basic and standard garlic-herb recipe that I use for alot of pasta.

  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup cream or milk
  • 1 large bunch basil, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • Parmigiano Reggiano cheese
  • 6 tablespoons butter

 

20150728_193400

 

 

Get the liquid ready.

 

20150728_202221

 

Drop in the cooked black-bean pasta.

 

20150728_202418

 

Top with parmesan, and voila.  You could probably just serve it like this if you wanted to.

20150728_203052

 

Plate the pasta, put the shrimp on top, serve…enjoy…digest…nom…

 

20150728_203416

 

So takeaways from this attempt.

 

  1. Dont overcook shrimp, its easier than you think when searing
  2. Black Bean Pasta is good and good for you, personally I had a hard time eating ALOT of it.  The taste wasnt strong and it was good but by the end it started to wear on me alittle.  My wife however loved every bite and wanted more.