Mango is Played out, Peach Salsa is where its at.

Seems like everyone and their mom is on the mango-salsa bandwagon right now.

 

I wanted to make a fruitier/sweeter salsa but I didn’t want to join the hype-train and make “just another mango salsa” so when I saw peaches in season I decided to swoop them up and give it a shot.  What followed was so good.

 

The ingredients for Salsa seem to be pretty universal.  Use math to reduce/increase in proportion for how much you really want.

  • 4 Tomatos, I prefer Roma’s because they are really firm and I like my salsa chunks to hold up instead of puree.
  • 1 Bellpepper
  • 3/4 Yellow Onion
  • 2 Peaches
  • 2 Jalapenos
  • 1 Bunch Cilantro
  • Juice of 1 Lime or if you’re like me….then like 2 tbsp of lime juice.
  • Salt to taste
20150719_125627

Ingredients

 

There really isnt much to “the process” here.  Everything kind of fell into two categories.
Category one is the “chop into cubes because I want this to hold its shape” category.  This is the bellpepper, tomato, and peach.  These are the items that I hand-chopped.

Category two is the “who gives a shit, just process it.”   This is the cilantro, onion, and jalapeno.  Dropped those in the processor/chopper and just let it get pulverized.

 

 

Mix it all up and what you’re left with is a refreshing, sweet, NOT MANGO salsa that is really tasty.

 

20150719_134447

Mango Salsa…oh wait Peach Salsa.

 

Chips never had it so good.

 

Nom

Nom