My First BBQ Sauce Might Be My Last

So I’ve been needing to make my own BBQ sauce, I’ve never really “loved” any store-bought sauces so I needed to figure out one that I could make my go-to.

I stumbled on this recipe and decided to give it a shot.  In my experience BBQ purists are oddly some of the most pretentious/elitist/obnoxious people on the planet so I usually hate even approaching the topic, its like you can’t talk about religion, politics, and BBQ…because if you do you’ll get an earful about how its either not real BBQ, or this other sauce is so much better, or blah blah…  Only one thing matters.

Jack GIF

Yessssss

It tastes f’kin good.

Ingredients

  • 1medium onion, finely chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced garlic (can use more)
  • 14cup vegetable oil
  • 5teaspoons chili powder
  • 12teaspoon paprika
  • 12teaspoon salt
  • 1 -2teaspoon  black pepper
  • 1pinch cayenne pepper
  • 2cups ketchup
  • 1cup brown sugar
  • 14cup cider vinegar
  • 13cup french’s yellow mustard
  • 14cup Worcestershire Sauce
  • 3teaspoons liquid smoke

Yep, it was basically the Long-Island-Iced-Tea of BBQ sauces…but seriously it was delicious.

First I sauteed some oil with the onions/garlic for about 5 minutes on a medium heat.  Don’t let them burn but give them a chance to release some flavor into the oil, then I threw in the spices, let it cook for another minute, then just threw everything in the pot.  Nothing fancy here.

 

Simmer for an hour on medium-low.  You want it hot enough to sputter but not so hot its sticking to the bottom of your pan.  You need to allow moisture to escape but this shit splatters like crazy, seriously, I had some hit my ceiling the first time I made it and spent 30 minutes cleaning.  However, we need to let moisture escape so you can’t just put a lid on it and walk away, what I do is I use the ladle that I’m stirring with and put it in the pot propped up against the lid to keep a good 1/2 inch crack between the lid and the pot.  Use the ladle once every 5-10 minutes to give it a nice stir, scraping anything that is starting to collect off the bottom before it burns.

 

Don’t make the mistake I made, save your ceiling, use something to reduce splatter without completely covering.

20150727_192354

Cookin

Once its done its done, just bottle it up and use it as needed.

20150727_200906

I’m serious when I say I don’t know if Im going to make any other sauces better.  Obviously I’m going to try once or twice but honestly I don’t really see me making anything much better.