Honey-Mustard and why yours probably tastes like butt.

I love a good honey mustard sauce.  Not a bitter one, not one that is overly mustardy, or too honeyish (yea thats a word, big woop want to fight about it?)  You have no idea how enraged I would get when I would go to a simple restaurant like Black Angus and theirs was soooo good but I could never replicate it.  I followed recipes to the T from all around the internet and eventually a chef-bro friend of mine tipped me off to what I was missing.

Vinegar.

I know it sounds stupid like “No shit Dave, you should have started with that” but remember…I’m learnin’ here.

1/3 cup Mayo (I used Best Foods)
2 1/4 tbs sugar (You may substitute Splenda to reduce your sugar intake)
1 1/4 tbs honey
1 tbsp yellow mustard (Frenches)
1 tbsp dijon mustard (Grey Poupon)
1 tbsp white vinegar
1 tbsp oil

There really is no fancy “process” here.  I just put it into the cup provided with my immersion blender and whipped it until it blended into golden honey goodness.

Immersion Blender

The final product comes out amazing, perfect level of sweet and mustard.  I put it in a restaurant style squeeze bottle (the one that holds Ketchup) and put it in the fridge for later, also so I can be all fancy and modern by busting this out.

20150721_190404

Then just put whatever you’re serving right on top with an extra drizzle or a sauce-cup or whatever….fried zucchini, artichoke hearts, scallops…whatever your heart desires.

In the future I would like to try it with a Japanese style Mayo like Kewpie though.